Health and Wellness FAQ

What if I have a Medically Documented Allergy?

If your allergy is medically documented, please register with the Office for Students with Disabilities. You can then start filling out the intake forms and gathering the necessary medical documentation. It’s very important that your documentation addresses your current, functional limitations particularly as they pertain to an academic setting.

What Happens After I contact OSD?

Once approved, you will receive a copy of your AFA letter. It is very important to return this signed letter to the HDH Dietitian. The dietitian will then contact you to set up a time to meet. You will choose a restaurant that is close to your dorm or classes, meet the chefs and the management, and review your meal options.

Once you’ve met with the dietitian and the restaurant staff, you’re all set! You just need to call ahead to have your specialty meal prepared for pick up.

The markets can accommodate your dietary needs as well—be sure to ask the HDH Dietitian.

Vegan Diet Information

Here are some quick tips / examples for how to eat vegan at any of our HDH Dining Services restaurants (menu items are subject to availability).

64 Degrees

Vegan burgers, fish-less tacos, tofu / meatless options at the wok, or build your own salad.

Café Ventanas

Vegan chili, vegan burgers, meatless pizza, make your own pasta bar.


Tofu fajita bowls, burritos, and salads; Chips, guacamole, and vegetable fajitas are all vegan side options.


Many options at the Spice station are vegan and/or vegetarian; pizzas are customizable.


There is a vegetarian option available at each service station; vegan chili and fish-less tacos are available daily; vegan sushi rolls are available most days.


Everything on the menu.

The Bistro

All rice and noodles are vegan; fresh spring rolls and udon noodle stir fry are customizable to become vegan; vegetable tempura, spicy yellow curry seared tofu, and vegetable sushi rolls are vegan.

UCSD Resources for Individuals Practicing a Vegan or Vegetarian Diet

Gluten Friendly Resources

What is Gluten?

Gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye, and barley which acts like a glue and helps food maintain shape. Oats are usually processed in facilities that also handle gluten-containing ingredients, so unless they specifically say "Gluten Free", oats also likely contain gluten. Normally eating gluten should not be a problem, but for those with Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance, consuming gluten can cause a lot of gastrointestinal issues.

Gluten Friendly on Campus

Gluten Free Menu ItemAvoiding gluten on campus is a lot easier than you think if you plan ahead! Check out the HDH Dining menus (our online menus are labeled so it’s easy to find gluten friendly options). Our markets also have gluten friendly options available.

Look for this orange symbol next to menu items indicating that particular item is gluten friendly!

Allergen and nutrition information posted on our website may not always be accurate or update to date. Please ask our staff for additional information if you have food allergies, and contact HDHDietitian@ucsd.edu with any questions you may have. All Dining locations process ingredients with known allergens, and we cannot guarantee any items are allergen free.

Contact Us